Privately Owned News and Resource Site - College Grants & Scholarship Resources -
September 26, 2020

LeBron James Named 2012 NBA MVP, Wins 3rd MVP Award

For the third time in the last four seasons, the NBA MVP Award is going to LeBron James. James, who is arguably the best player to play the game since Jordan, has won the award twice with the Cleveland Cavaliers and now once with the Miami Heat.

James received 85 first place votes, 61 more than the man who finished second, Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder. Overall, James earned 1074 points to win the award. Chris Paul came in third place, Kobe Bryant in fourth, and Tony Parker grabbed fifth.

Derrick Rose, last years MVP, only got 5 total points coming from one third place vote.

James joins the likes of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Larry Bird, Wilt Chamberlain, Michael Jordan, Moses Malone, and Bill Russell as the only players in NBA history who have been named MVP at least 3 times.

He also joins Moses Malone, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and Wilt Chamberlain as the only players to win the award with two different teams.

James also becomes the first Miami Heat player to win the award.

This year James averages 27.1 points per game, 7.9 rebounds, 6.2 assists, and 1.9 steals. He also had a 53.1 shooting percentage. It was evident all year that James was putting together a record year.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


The website is not associated with the government